Parliamentary Boundary Review 2018 - give your views

The Boundary Commission for England* is doing a review of parliamentary constituencies in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales – as part of the 2018 Review

What is a boundary review?

Parliamentary boundaries define the geographic area represented by each MP – known as their parliamentary constituency.

A parliamentary boundary review examines the existing constituencies and makes recommendations for any changes that are needed to ensure that constituencies comply with legal requirements, which make sure that the number of electors in each constituency is broadly equal, whilst also taking into account factors such as local community ties.

The 2018 Review will deliver its recommendations in September 2018.

Why is the review taking place?

One of the key requirements of the review is to reduce the number of constituencies in the UK to 600 (from 650) across England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Within England alone the number of constituencies will reduce from 533 to 501.

To achieve this, the Boundary Commission must review and recommend where the new constituency boundaries should be. By law these** must have roughly the same number of electors -  no fewer than 71,031 and no more than 78,507.  

What does this mean for Lichfield District?

The Boundary Commission published initial proposals for consultation on 13 September 2016. Within these it suggested the wards of Whittington and Streethay should move into the Tamworth parliamentary constituency following the review – note 31 on page 12.  

31 “We propose to extend the existing Tamworth constituency to include the whole of the divided Lichfield district ward of Whittington & Streethay within the Tamworth constituency. We noted that this change resulted in the electorate of the existing Lichfield constituency falling below 5% of the electoral quota, even after including the whole of the Lichfield district ward of Hammerwich with Wall in the Lichfield constituency. We therefore propose to include the Stafford borough ward of Haywood & Hixon in the Lichfield constituency. (page 12)

To read this recommendation and find out more about the initial proposals for the West Midlands download the full report.


Last year, the Boundary Commission for England published and consulted on its initial proposals for new constituency boundaries. Lichfield District Council formally responded to this consultation. The Boundary Commission received nearly 20,000 responses to that consultation. These responses have now been published and the Commission is inviting comments on them between now and Monday 27 March 2017.

All representations have been published at, where you can search by a number of different options, such as name, reference number, existing constituency or type of respondent, as well as using the interactive mapping system to locate comments geographically.

Following this secondary consultation, the Commission will be review all representations received from both consultations, and will consider whether any revisions are needed. If they decides to revise the proposals, another consultation will take place on the revised boundaries towards the end of 2017 or in early 2018.

*The Boundary Commission for England is an independent and impartial non-departmental public body which is responsible for reviewing parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

**except four specified island constituencies


Services A - Z

See all services

Get in touch or visit...

Our location and travel details >>

Phone our contact centre: 01543 308 000
District Council House, Frog Lane, Lichfield, Staffs, WS13 6YY

If you need to contact a team direct, please visit our contacts page for team phone numbers and email addresses.

Opening times

Our main reception at Frog Lane in Lichfield is open Monday - Friday, 8.45am - 5.15pm.

© Copyright 2005 (Updated 2017) Lichfield District Council | Website feedback | Privacy notice | Website terms | Accessibility