Skip to content

Parliamentary Boundary Review 2018

The Boundary Commission for England* is doing a review of parliamentary constituencies in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales – as part of the 2018 Review

What is a boundary review?

Parliamentary boundaries define the geographic area represented by each MP – known as their parliamentary constituency.

A parliamentary boundary review examines the existing constituencies and makes recommendations for any changes that are needed to ensure that constituencies comply with legal requirements, which make sure that the number of electors in each constituency is broadly equal, whilst also taking into account factors such as local community ties.

The 2018 Review will deliver its recommendations in September 2018.

Why is the review taking place?

One of the key requirements of the review is to reduce the number of constituencies in the UK to 600 (from 650) across England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Within England alone the number of constituencies will reduce from 533 to 501.

To achieve this, the Boundary Commission must review and recommend where the new constituency boundaries should be. By law these** must have roughly the same number of electors -  no fewer than 71,031 and no more than 78,507.  

What does this mean for Lichfield District?

The Boundary Commission published initial proposals for consultation on 13 September 2016. Within these it suggested the wards of Whittington and Streethay should move into the Tamworth parliamentary constituency following the review – note 31 on page 12.  

31 “We propose to extend the existing Tamworth constituency to include the whole of the divided Lichfield district ward of Whittington & Streethay within the Tamworth constituency. We noted that this change resulted in the electorate of the existing Lichfield constituency falling below 5% of the electoral quota, even after including the whole of the Lichfield district ward of Hammerwich with Wall in the Lichfield constituency. We therefore propose to include the Stafford borough ward of Haywood & Hixon in the Lichfield constituency. (page 12)


Last year, the Boundary Commission for England published and consulted on its initial proposals for new constituency boundaries. Lichfield District Council formally responded to this consultation. All representations have been published at

The Commission carried out a second consultation in the spring of 2017.

The Commission have reviewed all representations received from both consultations, and made some revisions. Another consultation has now started and ends on 11 December 2017.

*The Boundary Commission for England is an independent and impartial non-departmental public body which is responsible for reviewing parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

**except four specified island constituencies

Services A - ZSee all services
Get in touch or visit...

Our location and travel details >>

Phone our contact centre: 01543 308 000
District Council House, Frog Lane, Lichfield, Staffs, WS13 6YY

If you need to contact a team direct, please visit our contacts page for team phone numbers and email addresses.

Opening times

Our main reception at Frog Lane in Lichfield is open Monday - Friday, 8.45am - 5.15pm.