Skip to content

Parliamentary boundary review 2018

The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) has completed its review of parliamentary constituencies and submitted their final report to the Government on Wednesday 5 September. The report was laid in Parliament on 10 September.

You can see a full copy on the commission's website together with interactive maps and a list of frequently asked questions at

What happens next?

The government must now prepare the Statutory Instrument (SI) that would implement the recommendations (which may not be amended by the government). Both Houses of Parliament will debate the changes and must vote on the SI before it becomes law.

If both houses approve the SI, the new boundaries would come into force the next time Parliament is dissolved. If they are not voted through by both houses, the existing boundaries will continue to apply for future general elections.

The new rules would mean that there will be 600 constituencies in the UK, as opposed to 650 previously. This means the number of constituencies in England will be reduced by 32, from 533 to 501. The final recommendations have ensured that each constituency has a similar number of registered electors. Both of these factors mean that there will be some changes to the majority of the existing constituencies.

Proposed changes in Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent

The recommendations reduce the number of constituencies by one to 11 in the Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent sub region of the West Midlands.

At present the Lichfield District wards of Whittington & Streethay, and Hammerwich with Wall are divided between the Lichfield and Tamworth constituencies, with the Lichfield constituency containing the majority of the electors of both wards.

The final recommendations will see the remaining part of the Whittington & Streethay ward – i.e. polling districts AD, YA, YB, and YC - being moved out of the Lichfield constituency and added into the Tamworth constituency to bring its electorate within the permitted electorate range.

To bring the electorate of the Lichfield constituency within the permitted range, will see the Wall polling district of WA of the Hammerwich with Wall ward being moved out of the Tamworth constituency into the Lichfield constituency, and the addition of the divided Borough of Stafford ward of Haywood & Hixon.

How does it affect me and other local voters?

Until Parliament approves the final proposals and lays the SI nothing will change for our registered voters. You do not need to contact us as there is no need to register to vote again or re-apply for a postal vote.

Further information will be available on our website once the boundary changes become law.

In the meantime, if you have any questions please contact Electoral Services at or 01543 308008.

Services A - ZSee all services
Get in touch or visit...

Our location and travel details >>

Phone our contact centre: 01543 308 000
District Council House, Frog Lane, Lichfield, Staffs, WS13 6YY

If you need to contact a team direct, please visit our contacts page for team phone numbers and email addresses.

Opening times

Our main reception at Frog Lane in Lichfield is open Monday - Friday, 8.45am - 5.15pm. Our phone lines close at 5pm.