Help to buy advice

Shared ownership for key groups

There are a number of shared ownership schemes for specific groups including:

Older people 

If you’re aged 55 or over at the time of buying the home, you can buy up to a 75% share through the older people’s shared ownership scheme. Once you own 75%, you will not pay rent on the rest.

Disabled scheme

You can apply for a scheme called home ownership for people with a long-term disability if other scheme properties do not meet your needs. For example, if you need a ground floor home.

Members of the armed forces

Certain military personnel get priority over other groups in the armed forces help to buy scheme.